The Stoeger Coach Gun

The “Coach Gun” is probably the most widely used firearm of the late 1800’s. Pioneers, settlers and lawmen alike relied on the double-barrel, side-by-side shotgun for everything from putting food on the table to close-quarters combat. The modern slang “riding shotgun” can be traced back to the days when stagecoaches played a big role in transporting people and cargo to destinations the train didn’t reach. The rough and tumble frontier of the “Old West” was such that these trips often necessitated a guard toting a short-barreled shotgun up front with the driver. Anyone that’s ever watched a John Wayne Western movie has seen just how effective the coach gun was back in the day.

Stoeger Coach Gun

Copyright © 2011 Stoeger Industries
Click on the image above for a larger version.

Today, the “Coach Gun” has found new life for both home defense and Cowboy Action Shooting. The most common shotgun for SASS shooters is the Stoeger Coach Gun at 6-1/2 pounds with a pair of 20-inch barrels. The Stoeger Coach Gun is a simple, effective tool for cowboy shooters. The barrels are short enough for quick handling and its break-open design allows it to be used by shooters of all experience levels. It’s also one of the most fun firearms I’ve ever shot!

View the video above for more information.

Originally developed as traditional, double-trigger models for Cowboy Action Shooters, the Stoeger Coach Gun now comes in single-trigger models for an even faster second shot. They are chambered for 2¾- and 3-inch shotshells in both 12 and 20 gauge and are offered in blued finish with traditional satin-finished walnut stocks. The new top-of-the-line  Coach Gun Supreme also features a blued finish with a corrosion-resistant, stainless steel receiver and stock made from AA-Grade American Walnut. Both 12-gauge and 20-gauge Supreme models come with improved cylinder and modified screw-in choke tubes and a choke wrench.

Stoeger Coach Gun Banner

You can learn more about the Stoeger Coach Gun in Captain Baylor’s great article Getting Started in Cowboy Action Shooting or by watching the video reviews from The Truth About Guns.

I’ll also be posting an article in the coming weeks on how to slick up your Stoeger Coach Gun for cowboy shooting with the tools you already own. So stay tuned!

5 thoughts on “The Stoeger Coach Gun

  1. I have a Foreign 410 stagecoach shotgun and can find nothing about it anywhere. It is about 18″ long double hammer 410 shotgun. A gun dealer near me says it is worth $!10-20,000. Kinda hard to believe. Was left to me by my father in law. The name Foreign is on the barrel. Along with 6/6/19. Has anyone heard of this gun?

  2. Do you shoot in the wild bunch division with your 1911s??? IF, and it’s a BIG IF, I was ever going to shoot SASS (USPSA, IDPA, 3 gun and local steel matches take up a bit of time) I’d like to shoot in that division I think….

    • Hey Derrick,

      I’m still putting together my “Wild Bunch” rig to be historically correct but what better way to have fun with a 1911. Right now I’m just having fun shooting my two Cimarron Evil Roy’s and my Stoeger Coach Gun while waiting for my Rossi 92 to come back from the gunsmith.

      Jeff

        • Derrick,

          I do shoot .38 special in my Cimarron Evil Roys and will in my new Rossi 92 later this month. I also have an Evil Roy in 45 LC just for fun.

          Jeff

Comments are closed.