Shooting with the Old Fort Parker Patriots

Old Fort Parker Patriots

 

Another Match / A New Club
A few months ago the folks that run The Old Fort Parker Patriots in Groesbeck, Texas invited me to join them for their next monthly match. I’d heard lots of good things about this SASS club and decided to take the long drive north from Sugar Land to the green pastures of Groesbeck, Texas.

The Old Fort Parker Patriots is a SASS affiliated club that shoots at historic Old Fort Parker, the former homestead of the pioneer Parker Family and Cynthia Ann Parker. The monthly match is held the third full weekend of each month and the drive north from Houston covers some beautiful East Texas scenery.

The Winchester 1873 Rifle

Winchester 1873 Rifle – Groesbeck, Texas
Copyright © 2012 Jeff Lynch Photography
Shot taken with a Canon EOS 5D Mark II set on aperture (Av) priority using an EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens hand held. The exposure was taken at 105mm, f/8 for 1/250th of a second at ISO 200. Post capture processing was done in Adobe’s Lightroom 3 and Photoshop CS5 using Nik’s Color Efex Pro filters.
Click on the image above for a larger version.

 

More Friendly Faces
This was the largest match I’ve shot in and although I didn’t place very well, I had a great time and really enjoyed the stage designs and how well the match was run. I saw many familiar faces and was once again, warmly welcomed by everyone there.

Shooter's Meeting at Fort Parker

Shooters Meeting – Groesbeck, Texas
Copyright © 2012 Jeff Lynch Photography
Shot taken with a Canon EOS 5D Mark II set on aperture (Av) priority using an EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens hand held. The exposure was taken at 32mm, f/10 for 1/125th of a second at ISO 200. Post capture processing was done in Adobe’s Lightroom 3 and Photoshop CS5 using Nik’s Color Efex Pro filters.
Click on the image above for a larger version.

 

Great Shooters
I was very impressed by the caliber of shooters I faced at this match and I can honestly say that being beat by a thirteen year old boy and an eighty five year old man was the most fun I’ve had in years! I learned more about cowboy action shooting during that beautiful Saturday morning than I ever thought possible and enjoyed watching the technique and skills of these fine shootists.

Six Shooter

Six Shooter – Groesbeck, Texas
Copyright © 2012 Jeff Lynch Photography
Shot taken with a Canon EOS 5D Mark II set on aperture (Av) priority using an EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens hand held. The exposure was taken at 75mm, f/8 for 1/400th of a second at ISO 200. Post capture processing was done in Adobe’s Lightroom 3 and Photoshop CS5 using Nik’s Color Efex Pro filters.
Click on the image above for a larger version.

 

2 thoughts on “Shooting with the Old Fort Parker Patriots

  1. Jeff, wanted to tell you how much I like your blog/website. I have used Word Press for a small family website oriented to cowboy action shooting. Ours is not nearly as professional looking or as informative as yours. I use it in part to post copies of the Agarita Gazette, the monthly newsletter of the Plum Creek Shooting Society in Lockhart, Texas. That is one of the three clubs I shoot with fairly often, the other two being the Texican Rangers between Comfort and Fredericksburg and the Tejas Caballeros between Dripping Springs and Johnson City. I live in Austin. If you are so inclined, take a look our website. URL provided with information needed to post here. Would welcome an email with any comments or suggestions you might have about the website or the Agarita Gazette. You can email through the site or email provided in order to post.

    Long Juan
    SASS Life #84671

    • LJ,

      Thanks for reading and for the kind words. I’ve been meaning to come out your way and shoot with y’all sometime this summer or fall and I look forward to meeting you. I’m a commercial photographer by trade and an amateur shootist just getting started in cowboy action shooting. I’ve really enjoyed this sport much more than I did shooting IDPA against much younger folks. It’s nice to see some grey hair on the firing line after shooting against a bunch of kids all the time. And I don’t really mind getting beat by my senior friends either. There are some great shooters in this area and I’m blessed to have such nice folks to learn from.

      Jeff

Comments are closed.