Transitions

In a SASS event, nothing is more important that how you transition from one gun to another during a stage. Most shooters (myself included) lose more time in their transitions than they do in misses (which count as a five second penalty). If you could add up all the time spent transitioning from your rifle to your pistol and to your shot gun, you’d see that you actually spend more time in transitions that in actual shooting. That’s why the very best shooters practice their transitions more than just about anything else.

Coach Gun

Coach Gun – Groesbeck, Texas
Copyright © 2012 Jeff Lynch Photography
Shot taken with a Canon EOS 5D Mark II set on aperture (Av) priority using an EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens hand held. The exposure was taken at 75mm, f/8 for 1/400th of a second at ISO 200. Post capture processing was done in Adobe’s Lightroom 3 and Photoshop CS5 using Nik’s Color Efex Pro filters.
Click on the image above for a larger version.

 

Transitioning to Shot Gun Sequence
Click on the images below for larger versions.

Transition A

Transition B

Transition C

Transition D

Transition E

Transition F

3 thoughts on “Transitions

  1. Transitions and reloading the shotgun are indeed where I lose the most time. I should practice both more than I do. Alas, I rarely do. I shoot duelist and have been thinking about a better (quicker) way to transition between pistols. I know what I want to do, thought about trying it in a match last weekend without having practiced and decided (correctly I think) to practice at home before trying it in a shoot, at least in a big annual shoot (Comancheria Days with the Texican Rangers). Now all I have to do is follow through and practice.

    • Long Juan,

      I’ve been reading your gazette and I’m darned impressed. I’d like to come out for your next match and meet everyone at Plum Creek. I’m always looking for new venues to shoot and photograph around Texas. Drop me an email when you get a chance or give me a call.

      Colonel Ben Terry (aka Jeff Lynch)
      SASS # 93751
      Fort Bend County, Texas
      832-451-8676
      jeffrey.t.lynch@comcast.net

Comments are closed.